pnr logo


The Department of Physics was established in the year 1965 under the University of Kerala in Payyanur College. It is one of the oldest Departments of Payyanur College which flagged of with four teaching faculty, in the same year as the College started functioning in 1965. At the time, the Department offered only Pre Degree course. In 1969, the University of Calicut was formed and the affiliation of the Department along with the College was transferred to the Calicut University. In the year 1974 Degree course in Physics (B Sc. Physics) began to be offered. Later, in the year 1996, Kannur University was formed and the affiliation was transferred to Kannur University. The Department became a Post Graduate Department in the year 2001 and an approved research centre of the Kannur University in the year 2006. At present there are 8 teaching staffs, 3 non-teaching staffs, 8 research scholars, 30 PG students and 120 UG students in the Department.

The academic achievement of the Department in both curricular and extra- curricular realms is stupendous. The Department has been able to maintain a winning percentage of 90 or above in the university exams. The students of the Department have proved their talents in cultural and sports activities as well bagging several accolades including best performances.