pnr logo

Department of Chemistry was established in the year 1965 with Pre-Degree course with two faculties. In the year 1969, B.Sc. course in Chemistry was introduced with 5 faculty members under the headship of Prof. T. V. Achuthan Nair. Later in the year 2000, M.Sc. course in chemistry was introduced. At present department offers B.Sc. and M.Sc. course in Chemistry with a combined intake of 134 students. Presently department has 9 experienced faculties and 2 supporting staff members. During the last 50 years, the department has carried out extensive academic and non-academic performances. Since 1969 the performances of our students in the University examinations has been remarkable. The department of chemistry has a brilliant academic track record and has been proved since 1980 and till now. With regard to the percentage of pass, first classes, distinctions and ranks, Chemistry Department stands top in Payyanur College as well as in Kannur University. Besides these academic achievements many of our students have secured national merit scholarships and various other scholarships instituted by the Govt. and UGC. The students of the department are well received in industries and academic institutions in India and abroad. The department has so far conducted number of international/national seminars, workshops, exhibitions, residential camps and various competitions. The department successfully completed three research projects under UGC. The department aims value based education to rural sector and their developments.